Groups are the heart of the U3A, and participating in or leading a group is an excellent way to enjoy your favourite pastime with other members who share a common interest.

The aim of the U3A Javea is to enrich our lives through activity groups which all members are welcome to join.  These groups encompass a multitude of topics, including social, educational, cultural, recreational and physical, where members may share experiences and enjoy activities with like-minded people.

Please be aware that members taking part in group activities do so entirely at their own risk and are responsible for their own insurance cover.

Please remember that only Jávea U3A members can join a Group and that some Groups are already fully subscribed and may operate a waiting list for new members. If the Group in which you are interested is already full, or your interests are not reflected in the list below, perhaps you would consider starting a new or parallel Group. If so, please send an email to the Groups Coordinator.

So – should you wish to join a group or seek more information about it simply click on the Group heading below.  This will allow you to contact the Group Leader via the email link provided.

And/or – if you have ideas for forming a new group please contact the Groups Coordinator.

Android Users

Group Leader: Roy Brown
Email Address: android.users@u3ajavea.com 
Meeting Venue: Cafe Cortado, Jávea port
Meeting Day and Time: 11:00 first Wednesday of the month Are you an Android device user? Do you wish you had ...
Full details

Australian Canasta

Group Leader: Lynne Montague
Email Address: canasta.australian@u3ajavea.com 
Meeting Venue: Cafe Cortado, Jávea Port
Meeting Day and Time: Thursdays, 14:45 for prompt start at 15:00. Australian Canasta will resume on Thursday 24th January at our venue Cafe ...
Full details

Badminton One

Group Leader: Philip Gauron
Email Address:  badminton@u3ajavea.com 
Meeting Venue: Palau Municipal D’Esports, Sports Centre, Jávea Port.
Meeting Day and Time: Monday 10:00 – 12:30 (see below), Thursday 10:00 – 12:00. The Badminton One Group ...
Full details

Badminton Two

Group Leader: Alan Waggett
Email Address: badminton.two@u3ajavea.com 
Meeting Venue: Palau Municipal D'Esports, Sports Centre, Jávea Port
Meeting Day and Time: Wednesday 14:15 - 15:45 ...
Full details

Bird Watching

Group Leader: Nigel Bentley
Email Address: bird.watching@u3ajavea.com 
Meeting Venue: Ad hoc visits, as arranged. Not late June to early September. Usually meet at Barclays Bank 8.00 am.
Meeting Day and Time: Contact the group leader for ...
Full details

Book and DVD Swap

Group Leader: Brenda Bates
Email Address: groups.coordinator@u3ajavea.com or dvd.swap@u3ajavea.com
Meeting Venue: Parador Hotel
Meeting Day and Time: Last Wednesday of the month (except July and August), from 10:00 onwards ...
Full details

Book club – Monday afternoon

Group Leader: Tony Lawton
Email Address: book.club@u3ajavea.com
Meeting Venue: Café Cortado, Calle Joan Fuster 6, Jávea Port
Meeting Day and Time: 3rd Monday of the month 15:00 The book group meets once a ...
Full details

Book club – Tuesday morning

Group Leader: Kay Thomas
Email Address: reading@u3ajavea.com
Meeting Venue: Parador Hotel, Javea
Meeting Day and Time: 1st Tuesday of the month 10:30
Accepts new members: Yes/No The group was formed in 2010 and currently ...
Full details

Bridge (non beginners)

Group Leader Muriel Shilan
Email Address bridge@u3ajavea.com
Meeting Venue Parador Hotel (in the bar)
Meeting Day and Time Monday 14:30 - 17:00 Please arrive at least 10 minutes before the start time
Accepts new ...
Full details

Camino Walking

Group Leader: Charo Tames-BrownEmail Address: camino.walking@u3ajavea.comVenue: as advertisedMeeting Day & Time: as advertised This group is dedicated to walking the routes of the Camino de Santiago in stages either as ...
Full details

Canasta JARS 1 (THURSDAY)

Group Leader: Val Cox
Email Address: canasta.jars@u3ajavea.com
Meeting Venue: Café Express, Av. Jaime Rey, Jávea Port
Meeting Day and Time: Thursdays, 14:45 for prompt start at 15:00
JARS Canasta is a ...
Full details

Canasta JARS 2 (TUESDAY)

Group Leader: Valerie Mary Cox
Email Address: canasta.tuesday@u3ajavea.com
Meeting Venue: Café Express, Jávea Port
Meeting Day and Time: Tuesdays, 14:45 for a prompt start at 15:00
JARS (Javea Aussie Rules Canasta) If ...
Full details

Canasta One Monday

Group Leader: Lynne Montague
Email Address: canasta.one@u3ajavea.com 
Meeting Venue: Ximera (Chimos), Jávea Port
Meeting Day and Time: Mondays, 14:45 for prompt start at 15:00
Accepts new members: Yes, new players are welcome, also beginners
...
Full details

Cards For Fun

Group Leader: Lynne Montague
Email Address: cards4fun@u3ajavea.com 
Meeting Venue: Taverna Nottingham Pressa, Calle Ausias March, next to Bang-Bang Burgers.
Meeting Day and Time: Every Saturday 15:00 to 17:00 Lynne Montague has started a ...
Full details

Cribbage

Group LeaderGEOFF ALLENEmail Addrcribbage@u3ajavea.com
Meeting VenueCafe Express, Av. Rey Jaime 1, Jávea Port.Meeting Day and TimeMondays 14:45 for 15:00 start
(Re-starts 2nd September) Calling all CARD/CRIB players, we will show you the ...
Full details

Cultural Arts

Group LeaderEmail Address cultural.arts@u3ajavea.comMeeting VenueMeeting Day and Time The information on this page will be updated throughout the month, with new events being added as soon as we are aware ...
Full details

Dancing: Modern Sequence

Group Leaders John and Pat Pittaway
Email Addressdancing.mod.seq@u3ajavea.com 
Meeting Venue Dance Cafe, Toscamar, Carretera del Portitxol, Javea
Cost: 5€ per person
Meeting Day and Time Wednesdays, 19:30-21:30
Would you like to join a group ...
Full details

Dine and Dance

Group Leaders: David and Anne WattsEmail address: dine.dance@u3ajavea.comMeeting Venue: various as advertisedMeeting Day and Time: various as advertised The Javea U3A Dine & Dance Group is run by David and ...
Full details

Dining Out

Group Leaders Mallory & Christine Glover
Email Address dining.out@u3ajavea.com For the next Meeting and Venue check the Calendar on this site. The Dining Out group has been set up ...
Full details

Discussion

Group Leader: Christine English
Email: disscussion@u3ajavea.com
Meeting Venue: Centro Social, next to the Centro de Salud, Plaza de la Constitución, 1st floor, end of corridor
Meeting Day and Time: 1st Friday of the ...
Full details

E-Bikes Cycling

Group Leader Philip Gauron
Email Address e.bikes.cycling@u3ajavea.com 
Meeting Venue As arranged
Meeting Day and Time As arranged Rides will be on lanes, streets, cycle tracks and roads and hills mixed in and will ...
Full details

Family History

Group Leader Lorely Griffiths
Email Address family.history@u3ajavea.com
Meeting Venue The Parador, Jávea, in the lounge behind the coffee bar
Meeting Day and Time The third Tuesday of the month at 15:00-17:00

Meetings are ...
Full details

Family History beginners

Group Leader Jean Miller
Email Addressfamily.history.beginners@u3ajavea.com
Meeting Venue Parador, Arenal (public lounge behind the bar)
Meeting Day and Time For more information of days and times of meetings, please email Jean
Accepts new ...
Full details

Garden Group

Group Leader: Marilyn Staus Email Address: garden.group@u3ajavea.com Meeting Venue: As announced Meeting Day and Time: Fourth Tuesday of each month at 1.30pm The idea is to organise a ...
Full details

Gentle Aerobics

Group Leader Bobby Ogden
Email Address gentle.aerobics@u3ajavea.com 
Venue L'Ancora Club de Tennis Jávea in the large studio
Meeting Day and Time Weekly on Wednesday from 10:00 to 11:00
You will need to bring ...
Full details

Guitar Courses

Group Leader Phil Shepherd
Email Addressguitar.courses@u3ajavea.com 
Meeting Venue Group Leader's home
Meeting Day and Time Thursdays
Beginners: 13:15 - 14:00
Improvers: 14:15 - 16:15
This group has been going since June 2013 with a ...
Full details

History

Group Leaders: Angela Chantry & Tony Dearie
Email history@u3ajavea.com
Meeting Venue: Casa de Cultura, Jávea
Meeting Day and Time: 2nd Tuesday of the month at 11:30
Accepts new members: Yes, just turn up ...
Full details

Ladies that lunch

Group Leaders Katrina Frost, Delia Wilde
Email Addressladies.that.lunch@u3ajavea.com
Meeting Venue As arranged
Meeting Day and Time Variable If you are interested in joining our group, please contact the Group Leaders at the ...
Full details

Live Model Art

Group Leader Mike Frost
Email Address live.model.art@u3ajavea.com 
Meeting Venue L'Ancora Tennis, Jávea
Meeting Day and Time Second Thursday of the month, 14:30-16:30
Accepts new members: Yes
It is envisaged as a once-a-month event, which ...
Full details

Mahjong

Group Leader: Kay Thomas
Email Address: mahjong@u3ajavea.com
Meeting Venue: Café Cortado, Calle Joan de Fuster, Bajo 6, Javea Port
Meeting Day and Time: Tuesday, 15:00
The group is now full with a long waiting ...
Full details

Mexican Train

Group Leader Ray Turner
Email Addr mexican.train@u3ajavea.com
Meeting Venue Café Cortado, Jávea Port
Meeting Day and Time Every Friday, 14:45 for 15:00 prompt start Finish at 17:00. Mexican Train is played with ...
Full details

Not Just Folk Music

Group Leader Roger Saunders
Email Address folk.music@u3ajavea.com Meeting Venue: Quo Vadis, Javea (near to SeeMontgo and Go Karting) Day and Time: Last Monday of the month 19.00 for 19.30 finish 22.30- ...
Full details

Padel ladies Friday

Group Leaders Bernadine Davis-Turpin
Email Address: ladies.friday.padel@u3ajavea.com 
Meeting Venue Palau Municipal d'Esports (Sports Centre in the Port)
Day and Time Fridays (times vary)
13th Sept - 30th June : 10:30 - 12:30
1st July - ...
Full details

Padel Ladies Intermediate

Group Leader Bernadine Davis-Turpin
Email Address padel.ladies.intermediate@u3ajavea.com 
Meeting Venue Palau Municipal d'Esports (Sports Centre in the Port)
Meeting Day and Time Thursdays, 10:30-12:00 A new Padel Tennis group for Ladies The group is ...
Full details

Padel mujeres nuevas

Group Leader
Email Address padel.mujeres.nuevos@u3ajavea.com 
Meeting Venue Palau Municipal d'Esports (Sports Centre in the Port)
Meeting Day and Time Mondays, 10:30-12:00 A new Padel Tennis group for Ladies The group will meet ...
Full details

Padel Tennis One

Group Leader Jill Knight
Email Address padel.tennis@u3ajavea.com 
Meeting Venue Palau Municipal d'Esports (Sports Centre in the Port)
Meeting Day and Time Tuesday 10:30
Accepts new members: No
At the present time, this group is ...
Full details

Padel Tennis Three

Group Leader Phil Shepherd
Email padel.tennis.three@u3ajavea.com
Meeting Venue L'Ancora Paris 24
Meeting Day and Time Tuesday 10:30
Accepts new members: No, waiting list The Padel Tennis Three Group is now under the leadership ...
Full details

Padel Tennis Two

Group Leader Garth Needham
Email padel.tennis.two@u3ajavea.com 
Meeting Venue Palau Municipal d'Esports (Sports Centre in the Port)
Meeting Day and Time Tuesdays 09:00 - 10:30
Accepts new members: No Please note that the Padel ...
Full details

Painting in Watercolour

Group Leader Elizabeth Cross
Emailpainting.watercolours@u3ajavea.com
Meeting Venue Café de Dance, Toscamar, Jávea
Meeting Day and Time Wednesdays, 10:30 - 13:30 This is an Art group for both beginners and those with a ...
Full details

Petanque One – Thursdays

Group Leader: Sue Lammas
Email petanque@u3ajavea.com 
Meeting Venue: Restaurante Casa de la Pizza, Carr. de la Guardia 146,Costa Nova
Meeting Day and Time Thursday 14.45 for 15.00 start Come and join our ...
Full details

Petanque Two – Fridays

Group Leader John and Beryl Chun
Email petanque.two@u3ajavea.com 
Meeting Venue Footbal pitch, Calle Verona, Avenida Augusta, near the port
Meeting Day and Time Fridays, 16:15 for 16:30-18:00 Please be aware that members taking ...
Full details

Poetry for Pleasure

Group Leader John Othick
Email poetry.appreciation@u3ajavea.com 
Meeting Venue Parador Hotel, Jávea
Meeting Day and Time First Monday of the month at 11:00
Poetry for Pleasure is a very informal group, which always welcomes ...
Full details

Questions & Conclusions

Group Leader Kevin Sheehan
Email debating@u3ajavea.com
Meeting Venue See below
Meeting Day and Time See below Kevin Sheehan is the Group Leader. He started a debating group outside the Jávea U3A but ...
Full details

Quiz Night

Group Leader David and Hilary Grove
Email quiz.night@u3ajavea.com
Meeting Venue Jávea Golf Club, Ctra Benitachell, CV740
Meeting Day and Time Dates as arranged - see below 19:00 for punctual 19:30 start Quiz ...
Full details

Railways

Group Leader: Peter Sparks
Email Address: railways@u3ajavea.com 
Meeting Venue: Jávea Players Studio
Meeting Day and Time: 2nd Monday of the month 15:00 If you are interested in joining the group, please send ...
Full details

Rummikubs Two Thursdays

Group Leader: Val Dromgoole
Email Address: rummikubs.two@u3ajavea.com 
Meeting Venue: Café Cortado in Jávea Port
Meeting Day and Time: Weekly on Thursday 15:30
Accepts new members: Yes Rummikubs is a game played with tiles numbered ...
Full details

Rummikubs Wednesdays

Group Leader: Krystyna Stefanczyk
Email Address: social.rummikubs@u3ajavea.com
Meeting Venue: Dance Café, Toscamar Ctra del Portitxol
Meeting Day and Time: Weekly on Wednesday at 15:15
Accepts new members: Yes Rummikubs is often mistaken for a ...
Full details

Satcine

Group Leader John and Beryl Chun
Email satcine@gmail.com 
Meeting Venue Jávea Players Studio
Meeting Day and Time Usually 2nd Saturday of the month 19:30 for 20:00 Satcine is the Saturday Social Club of ...
Full details

Sit And Be Fit

Group Leaders Barbara Gorrod, Sheila Giacomelli
Email sit.and.be.fit@u3ajavea.com 
Meeting Venue Dance Room, Sports Centre, Port
Meeting Day and TimeEvery Friday 10:30 - 11:30 Sit and Be Fit is a new gentle exercise group, ...
Full details

Snooker One Friday

Group LeaderLarry Sherrington
Email Address snooker@u3ajavea.com
Meeting Venue Restaurante Cabo 63 (was Jaspas) on the Cabo de la Nao road
Meeting Day and Time Fridays 12:00 - 15:00 The group meet on ...
Full details

Snooker Two Tuesday

Group Leader None at present
Email Address snooker.two@u3ajavea.com 
Meeting Venue Inn on the Green, Jávea Bowls,Cansalades
Meeting Day and Time Tuesdays, 12:00 - 14:00 If anybody is interested in joining this Snooker Group, ...
Full details

Solo on a Sunday

Group Leader: Pat Ainsley
Email solo.on.sunday@u3ajavea.com 
Meeting Venue Selected restaurants
Meeting Day and Time: Last Sunday of the month, various venues
No lunches during the summer until September Don't sit at home - join ...
Full details

Spanish for Beginners

Group Leader: Heidi Hancock
Email: spanish.beginners@u3ajavea.com
Meeting Venue: Social Centre, Jávea, (Sala de Conferencia)
Meeting Day and Time: Mondays, 11.30 - 12.30 The Spanish for Beginners (intended for zero speakers of Spanish) ...
Full details

Spanish for Beginners 1

Group Leader Heidi Hancock
Email spanish.beginners@u3ajavea.com 
Meeting Venue Social Centre, Jávea, Sala de Conferencia
Meeting Day and Time Mondays 09:00 to 10:00 This class is intended for people who have a very ...
Full details

Spanish Culture and Cuisine

Group Leader:
Angela Chantry and Tony DearieEmail:spanish.culture.cuisine@u3ajavea.comMeeting Venue:Meeting Day and Time:Cost:Accepts new members:Yes A VERY WARM WELCOME TO OUR SPANISH CULTURE AND CUISINE GROUP Our aim is to embrace everything ...
Full details

Spanish Pre Intermediate

Group Leader Heidi Hancock
Email spanish.intermediate@u3ajavea.com 
Meeting Venue Social Centre, Jávea, Sala de Conferencia
Meeting Day and Time Class 1: Mondays, 10:15 - 11:15 Spanish Pre-Intermediate This class is quite full but if ...
Full details

Sunday Singles

Group Leader: Annetta Tyler
Email sunday.singles@u3ajavea.com 
Meeting Venue: Varies weekly - notified by email to group members
Meeting Day and Time: Usually 1pm start This is a group of people who enjoy going ...
Full details

Table Tennis

Group Leader Carol Cresswell
Email table.tennis@u3ajavea.com 
Meeting Venue Palau Municipal d'Esports, Sports Centre, Jávea Port
Meeting Day and Time Wednesdays, 11:00 - 13:00 The Table Tennis Group covers levels of intermediate and skilled ...
Full details

Travel

Group Leader: Dave Butttravel@u3ajavea.com
Jan Wylietravel.janw@u3ajavea.com 
Meeting Venue: Far end of Sala Cabo la Nao, Parador Hotel, Jávea
Meeting Day and Time: Last Wednesday of the month 9.30 - 10:45 The Travel ...
Full details

Travellers’ Tales

Group Leaders: Angela Chantry, Tony Dearie
Email: travellers.tales@u3ajavea.com
Meeting Venue: Javea Players Studio
Meeting Day and Time: Tuesday 10:30 for 11:30 - check actual meeting day on the group's schedule below
Accepts new members: ...
Full details

WAGs Too

Group Leader Trevor Rush
Email Addr wine@u3ajavea.com
Meeting Venue La Cocina Restaurant, Jávea Port
Meeting Day and Time Thursday following 3rd Wednesday of the month 12:30 for 13:00 start. The WAGs Too Group ...
Full details

Walking – health

Group Leaders: Karen White & Clive White Email Address: walking@u3ajavea.com Meeting Venue: Various Meeting Day/Time: Normally Mondays, 09:50 Contact the Group Leaders for details. These are approximately 1 hour walks ...
Full details

Walking – intermediate

Group Leaders: Karen White & Clive White Email Address: walking@u3ajavea.com Meeting Venue: Various Meeting Day/Time: Normally Thursdays, 09:50 Contact the Group Leaders for details. Intermediate Walks are aimed at ...
Full details

Walking – gentle

Group Leaders: Karen White & Clive White Email Address:  walking@u3ajavea.com Meeting Venue: Outside Casa del Vino, Calle Burdeos, Arenal Meeting Day/Time: 10:00 Every Wednesday (but see below) These walks are for ...
Full details

Wine Appreciation

Group Leader: Trevor Rush
Email Addr: wine@u3ajavea.com
Meeting Venue: La Cocina Restaurant, Jávea Port
Meeting Day and Time: 3rd Wednesday of the month 12:30 for 13:00 start The Wine Appreciation Group meets on ...
Full details

Activity Groups Photo Archive

A selection of photographs from across the last ten years of U3A activity in Jávea can be accessed here