Groups are the heart of the U3A, and participating in or leading a group is an excellent way to enjoy your favourite pastime with other members who share a common interest.

The aim of the U3A Javea is to enrich our lives through activity groups which all members are welcome to join.  These groups encompass a multitude of topics, including social, educational, cultural, recreational and physical, where members may share experiences and enjoy activities with like-minded people.

Please be aware that members taking part in group activities do so entirely at their own risk and are responsible for their own insurance cover.

Please remember that only Jávea U3A members can join a Group and that some Groups are already fully subscribed and may operate a waiting list for new members. If the Group in which you are interested is already full, or your interests are not reflected in the list below, perhaps you would consider starting a new or parallel Group. If so, please send an email to the Groups Coordinator.

So – should you wish to join a group or seek more information about it simply click on the Group heading below.  This will allow you to contact the Group Leader via the email link provided.

And/or – if you have ideas for forming a new group please contact the Groups Coordinator.

Android Users

Group Leader: Roy Brown
Email Address: android.users@u3ajavea.com 
Meeting Venue: Cafe Cortado, Jávea port
Meeting Day and Time: 11:00 first Wednesday of the month Are you an Android device user? Do you wish you had ...
Full details

Bird Watching

Group Leader: Nigel Bentley
Email Address: bird.watching@u3ajavea.com
Meeting Venue: Ad hoc visits, as arranged. Not late June to early September. Usually meet at Barclays Bank 8.00 am.
Meeting Day and Time: Contact ...
Full details

Book club

Book club - Tuesday morning Group Leader: Kay Thomas
Email Address: reading@u3ajavea.com
Book club – Monday afternoon Group Leader: Tony Lawton
Email Address: book.club@u3ajavea.com Meeting Venue: Bali Café in the Montgo Verd ...
Full details

Bridge (non beginners)

Group Leader Muriel Shilan
Email Address bridge@u3ajavea.com
Meeting Venue Parador Hotel (in the bar)
Meeting Day and Time Monday 14:30 - 17:00 Please arrive at least 10 minutes before the start time
Accepts new ...
Full details

Canasta Group

Group Leader: Lynne Montague
Email Address: canasta.one@u3ajavea.com 
Meeting Venue: Ximera (Chimos), Jávea Port
Meeting Day and Time: Monday 14:45 for prompt start at 15:00
Accepts new members: Yes, new players are welcome, also beginners ...
Full details

Cards For Fun

Group Leader: Sue Vickers
Email Address: cards4fun@u3ajavea.com 
Meeting Venue: Taverna Nottingham Pressa, Calle Ausias March, next to Bang-Bang Burgers.
Meeting Day and Time: Every Saturday 15:00 to 17:00 This new group has been ...
Full details

Chess

Group Leader: Roy Brown Email:chess@u3ajavea.com Meeting Venue: Cafe Nostro (Javea port) Meeting Day and Time: Weekly on Monday 14.45 arrival for 15.00 start Accepts new members: Yes Refresh your skills ...
Full details

Cribbage

Group LeaderGEOFF ALLENEmail Addresscribbage@u3ajavea.com
Meeting VenueCafe Express, Av. Rey Jaime 1, Jávea Port.Meeting Day and TimeMondays 14:45 for 15:00 start Calling all CARD/CRIB players, we will show you the ropes or give you a ...
Full details

Dancing: Modern Sequence

Group Leaders: John and Pat Pittaway
Email Address: dancing.mod.seq@u3ajavea.com 
Meeting Venue: Parque Les Fonts, Urbanitzación les Fonts, 16-140, 03726 Benitachell (map link below)
Cost: 5€ per person
Meeting Day and Time: Monday, 18:45 -21.00 ...
Full details

Dine and Dance

Group Leaders: David and Anne WattsEmail address: dine.dance@u3ajavea.comMeeting Venue: various as advertisedMeeting Day and Time: various as advertised The Javea U3A Dine & Dance Group is run by David and ...
Full details

Dining Out

Group Leaders: Linda Coughlin and Alan Guest
Email Address dining.out@u3ajavea.com For the next Meeting and Venue check the Calendar on this site. Group leaders Linda and Alan The Dining Out ...
Full details

Discussion

Group Leader: David & Genevieve Lawrence
Email: discussion@u3ajavea.com
Meeting Venue: Centro Social, next to the Centro de Salud, Plaza de la Constitución, 1st floor, end of corridor
Meeting Day and Time: Last Friday ...
Full details

Family History

Leaders: Lorely Griffiths & Jean Miller
Email: family.history@u3ajavea.com Meeting Venue: The Parador, Jávea, in the lounge behind the coffee bar
Meeting Day and Time: The third Tuesday of the month at 15:00-17:00 ...
Full details

Garden Group

Group Leader: Marilyn Staus Email Address: garden.group@u3ajavea.com Meeting Venue: As announced Meeting Day and Time: Fourth Tuesday of each month at 1.30pm Open to new members The idea ...
Full details

Gentle Aerobics

Group Leader Bobby Ogden
Email Address gentle.aerobics@u3ajavea.com
Venue L'Ancora Club de Tennis Jávea in the large studio
Meeting Day and Time Weekly on Wednesday from 10:00 to 11:00
Restarting Wednesday 12th January You ...
Full details

History Talks

Group Leader: Allison (Alli) O'Brien
Email history@u3ajavea.com
Meeting Venue: Javea Players Studio, Calle Cronista Figueras Pacheco 6, Jávea (near Mercadona in the town)
Meeting Day and Time: Second Tuesday every month 11:00am ...
Full details

Javea Heritage

Group Leaders: Claude and Linda Grealy
Email address: heritage@u3ajavea.com
Meeting venue: To be arranged prior to each visit
Meeting Day & Time: Monthly, when a tour can be arranged of a particular heritage ...
Full details

Ladies that lunch

Group Leaders: Katrina Frost, Delia Wilde
Email Address: ladies.that.lunch@u3ajavea.com
Meeting Venue: As arranged
Meeting Day and Time: Variable If you are interested in joining our group, please contact the Group Leaders at ...
Full details

Live Model Art

Group Leader: Mike Frost
Email Address: live.model.art@u3ajavea.com 
Meeting Venue: Social Centre Cafeteria, Jávea Pueblo
Meeting Day and Time: Second Thursday of the month, 14:30-16:30
Accepts new members: Yes
We are a self help group ...
Full details

Mahjong

Group Leader: Brigitta Vervoort
Email Address: mahjong@u3ajavea.com
Meeting Venue: Café Cortado, Calle Joan de Fuster, Bajo 6, Javea Port
Meeting Day and Time: Tuesday, 15:00
The group is now full with a long waiting ...
Full details

Mexican Train

Group Leaders David and Barbara Woodhall
Email Address mexican.train@u3ajavea.com
Meeting Venue Cafeteria SuperCor, just at the entrance to the supermarket.
Meeting Day and Time Every Friday, 14:45 for 15:00 prompt start Finish ...
Full details

New – Spanish Beginners Class

Meeting Venue: Social Centre, Jávea, Sala de Conferencia, 1st Floor
Meeting Day and Time: Monday morning If there is enough demand I´ll start a new Beginners class from 3 October until ...
Full details

Padel Tennis – Mixed

There are 6 groups playing Padel Tennis. Some are exclusively for women and others are for mixed groups. Some of the groups are full but have waiting lists and others ...
Full details

Painting in Watercolour

Group Leader Elizabeth Cross
Email: painting.watercolours@u3ajavea.com 
Meeting Venue Café de Dance, Toscamar, Jávea
Meeting Day and Time Wednesdays, 10:30 - 13:30 This is an Art group for both beginners and those with a ...
Full details

Petanque

Petanque - Thursdays Group Leader: Sue Lammas
Email petanque@u3ajavea.com Meeting Venue: Restaurante Casa de la Pizza, Carr. de la Guardia 146, Costa Nova
Meeting Day and Time Thursday 14.45 for 15.00 start ...
Full details

Philosophy for Life

Group Leaders: Colin Simonds & Angie Underwood
Email: philosophy.for.life@u3ajavea.com
Meeting Venue: Nostro Cafe Costa, Carrer Joan Fuster 2 (Port of Jávea).
Meeting Day and Time: Friday 16.00-17.30
Accepts new members: Yes If you are ...
Full details

Photography

Group Leader: Steven Staus
Email Address: photography@u3ajavea.com
Meeting Venue: Group Leader's home
Meeting Day and Time: First Wednesday every month 13.00 – 15:00 The group call themselves Shutter Bugs of Xabia or SOX ...
Full details

Poetry for Pleasure

Group Leader: Alma Dorndorf
Email: poetry.for.pleasure@u3ajavea.com 
Meeting Venue: Parador Hotel, Jávea
Meeting Day and Time: First Monday of the month at 11:00 Poetry for Pleasure is a very informal group, which always welcomes ...
Full details

Puzzles Swap Group

Group Leaders: John and Beryl Chun Day/Time: Monthly on the 1st Tuesday, 11-11.30am Venue: New carpark at the top of the Port near the wooden fishing boat, in the top ...
Full details

Quiz Night

Group Leader Awaiting a volunteer
Email quiz.night@u3ajavea.com 
Meeting Venue Jávea Golf Club, Ctra Benitachell, CV740
Meeting Day and Time Dates as arranged - see below 19:00 for punctual 19:30 start Quiz Nights are ...
Full details

Rummikub

Rummikub Wednesday Group Leaders: Krystyna Stefanczyk & Robin Race
Email Address: social.rummikubs@u3ajavea.com Rummikub Two Thursday Group Leader: Val Dromgoole
Email Address: rummikubs.two@u3ajavea.com  Meeting Venue: Dance Café, Toscamar Ctra del Portitxol
Meeting Day and Time: Weekly ...
Full details

Sea Fishing

Group Leader: Colin Olver
Email Address sea.fishing@u3ajavea.com
Meeting Venue Javea Coastline
Meeting Day and Time Monthly As arranged Have you ever wanted to try sea fishing from the shore but don’t know where ...
Full details

Sit And Be Fit

Group Leaders: Pat & Roger Betts
Email: sit.and.be.fit@u3ajavea.com 
Meeting Venue: Dance Room, Sports Centre, Javea Port
Meeting Day and Time: Every Friday 10:30 - 11:30 Sit and Be Fit is a new gentle exercise ...
Full details

Snooker

Snooker One Group Leader Larry Sherrington
Email Address snooker@u3ajavea.com
Snooker Two Group Leader: None at present
Email Address snooker.two@u3ajavea.com Meeting Venue: Inn on the Green, Calle Cansalada, Javea and Kawana Bar ...
Full details

Spanish Lessons

Spanish for Beginners 1 Group Leader: Heidi Hancock
Email: spanish.beginners@u3ajavea.com Spanish for Beginners 2 Group Leader: Heidi Hancock
Email: spanish.beginners@u3ajavea.com Spanish Pre-Intermediate Group Leader: Heidi Hancock
Email: spanish.intermediate@u3ajavea.com Meeting ...
Full details

Spanish Culture and Cuisine

Group Leader:
Angela Chantry and Tony DearieEmail:spanish.culture.cuisine@u3ajavea.comAccepts new members:Yes A VERY WARM WELCOME TO OUR SPANISH CULTURE AND CUISINE GROUP Angela and Tony Our aim is to embrace everything that ...
Full details

Sunday Solos

Group Leader: Annetta (Netta) Tyler email: sunday.singles@u3ajavea.com Meeting Venue: Varies weekly – notified by email to group members
Meeting Day and Time: Sunday Usually 1pm start This is a group of people who ...
Full details

Travel

Meet the Travel Group Leader - Amanda Jordan Amanda Jordan Contact Amanda by clicking her name above or by email to travel@u3ajavea.com The Travel Group leader arranges a variety of day trips ...
Full details

Travellers’ Tales

Group Leaders: Angela Chantry, Tony Dearie
Email: travellers.tales@u3ajavea.com
Meeting Venue: Javea Players Studio
Meeting Day and Time: Monthly, Tuesday 11.00 for 11:30 - check actual meeting day on the group's schedule below
Accepts new ...
Full details

Walking

Group Leaders: Allison O'Brien, John & Wendy Ranger, Kaye Gustafson, Paul Pruden & Claude Grealy
Email Address: walking@u3ajavea.com It is your responsibility, to look at the walk characteristics and ensure that you ...
Full details

Wine Appreciation

Wine Appreciation Group Leader: Trevor Rush
Email Addr: wine@u3ajavea.com Meeting Venue: La Cocina Restaurant, Jávea Port
Meeting Day and Time: 3rd Wednesday of the month 12:30 for 13:00 start The Wine Appreciation ...
Full details

Activity Groups Photo Archive

1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. I bet you’ve never heard about the U3A? – Photo etc.

Comments are closed.