Groups are the heart of the U3A, and participating in or leading a group is an excellent way to enjoy your favourite pastime with other members who share a common interest.

The aim of the U3A Javea is to enrich our lives through activity groups which all members are welcome to join.  These groups encompass a multitude of topics, including social, educational, cultural, recreational and physical, where members may share experiences and enjoy activities with like-minded people.

Please be aware that members taking part in group activities do so entirely at their own risk and are responsible for their own insurance cover.

Please remember that only Jávea U3A members can join a Group and that some Groups are already fully subscribed and may operate a waiting list for new members. If the Group in which you are interested is already full, or your interests are not reflected in the list below, perhaps you would consider starting a new or parallel Group. If so, please send an email to the Groups Coordinator.

So – should you wish to join a group or seek more information about it simply click on the Group heading below.  This will allow you to contact the Group Leader via the email link provided.

And/or – if you have ideas for forming a new group please contact the Groups Coordinator.

Android Users

Group Leader: Roy Brown
Email Address: android.users@u3ajavea.com 
Meeting Venue: Cafe Cortado, Jávea port
Meeting Day and Time: 11:00 first Wednesday of the month Are you an Android device user? Do you wish you had ...
Full details

Badminton

Badminton One Group Leader: Thelma Dunn Email badminton@u3ajavea.com Badminton Two Group Leader: Alan Waggett
Email badminton.two@u3ajavea.com  Meeting Venue: Palau Municipal D’Esports, Sports Centre, Jávea Port Meeting Day and Time: Monday 10am -12.30pm. Thursday ...
Full details

Bird Watching

Group Leader: Nigel Bentley
Email Address: bird.watching@u3ajavea.com
Meeting Venue: Ad hoc visits, as arranged. Not late June to early September. Usually meet at Barclays Bank 8.00 am.
Meeting Day and Time: Contact ...
Full details

Board Games

Group Leader: Bill Dunham
Email address: board.games@u3ajavea.com
Meeting venue:  Cafe Cortado, Calle Joan de Fuster, Jávea Port
Meeting Day & Time: 2nd and 4th Monday of each Month  The current programme is as follows ...
Full details

Book and DVD Swap

Group Leader: Brenda Bates
Email Address: groups.coordinator@u3ajavea.com or dvd.swap@u3ajavea.com
Meeting Venue: Parador Hotel
Meeting Day and Time: Last Wednesday of the month (except July and August), from 10:00 onwards ...
Full details

Book club

Book club - Tuesday morning Group Leader: Kay Thomas
Email Address: reading@u3ajavea.com
Book club – Monday afternoon Group Leader: Tony Lawton
Email Address: book.club@u3ajavea.com Meeting Venue: Parador Hotel, Javea
Meeting Day and Time: ...
Full details

Bridge (non beginners)

Group Leader Muriel Shilan
Email Address bridge@u3ajavea.com
Meeting Venue Parador Hotel (in the bar)
Meeting Day and Time Monday 14:30 - 17:00 Please arrive at least 10 minutes before the start time
Accepts new ...
Full details

Camino Walking

Group Leader: Charo Tames-BrownEmail Address: camino.walking@u3ajavea.comVenue: as advertisedMeeting Day & Time: as advertised This group is dedicated to walking the routes of the Camino de Santiago in stages either as ...
Full details

Canasta Groups

There are 4 groups playing Canasta. All meet in the afternoons but on three different days. Two of the groups play a very different variation called JARS (Jávea Aussie Rules) ...
Full details

Cards For Fun

Group Leader: Sue Vickers
Email Address: cards4fun@u3ajavea.com 
Meeting Venue: Taverna Nottingham Pressa, Calle Ausias March, next to Bang-Bang Burgers.
Meeting Day and Time: Every Saturday 15:00 to 17:00 This new group has been ...
Full details

Chess

Group Leader: Roy Brown Email:chess@u3ajavea.com Meeting Venue: Café Express in Jávea Port Meeting Day and Time: Twice monthly, on the first and third Monday of the month at 14:45 Accepts ...
Full details

Cribbage

Group LeaderGEOFF ALLENEmail Addresscribbage@u3ajavea.com
Meeting VenueCafe Express, Av. Rey Jaime 1, Jávea Port.Meeting Day and TimeMondays 14:45 for 15:00 start Calling all CARD/CRIB players, we will show you the ropes or give you a ...
Full details

Cultural Arts

Group LeaderEmail Address cultural.arts@u3ajavea.comMeeting VenueMeeting Day and Time The information on this page will be updated throughout the month, with new events being added as soon as we are aware ...
Full details

Dancing: Modern Sequence

Group Leaders John and Pat Pittaway
Email Address:: dancing.mod.seq@u3ajavea.com 
Meeting Venue Dance Cafe, Toscamar, Carretera del Portitxol, Javea
Cost: 5€ per person
Meeting Day and Time Wednesdays, 19:30-21:30 Would you like to join a ...
Full details

Dine and Dance

Group Leaders: David and Anne WattsEmail address: dine.dance@u3ajavea.comMeeting Venue: various as advertisedMeeting Day and Time: various as advertised The Javea U3A Dine & Dance Group is run by David and ...
Full details

Dining Out

Group Leaders Mallory & Christine Glover
Email Address dining.out@u3ajavea.com For the next Meeting and Venue check the Calendar on this site. The Dining Out group has been set up ...
Full details

Discussion

Group Leader: David Lawrence
Email: discussion@u3ajavea.com
Meeting Venue: Centro Social, next to the Centro de Salud, Plaza de la Constitución, 1st floor, end of corridor
Meeting Day and Time: 1st Friday of the ...
Full details

E-Bikes Cycling

Group Leader Philip Gauron
Email Address e.bikes.cycling@u3ajavea.com
Meeting Venue As arranged
Meeting Day and Time As arranged Rides will be on lanes, streets, cycle tracks and roads and hills mixed in and ...
Full details

Family History / Genealogy

Family History beginners Group Leader Jean Miller
Email Address family.history.beginners@u3ajavea.com Family History Group Leader Lorely Griffiths
Email Address family.history@u3ajavea.com Meeting Venue Parador,  Arenal (public lounge behind the bar)
Meeting Day and Time For more information of ...
Full details

Garden Group

Group Leader: Marilyn Staus Email Address: garden.group@u3ajavea.com Meeting Venue: As announced Meeting Day and Time: Fourth Tuesday of each month at 1.30pm The idea is to organise a ...
Full details

Gentle Aerobics

Group Leader Bobby Ogden
Email Address gentle.aerobics@u3ajavea.com
Venue L'Ancora Club de Tennis Jávea in the large studio
Meeting Day and Time Weekly on Wednesday from 10:00 to 11:00
You will need to ...
Full details

Guitar Courses

Group Leader Phil Shepherd
Email Addressguitar.courses@u3ajavea.com 
Meeting Venue Group Leader's home
Meeting Day and Time Thursdays
Beginners: 13:15 - 14:00
Improvers: 14:15 - 16:15
This group has been going since June 2013 with a ...
Full details

History Talks

Group Leader: Cheda Panajotovic
Email history@u3ajavea.com
Meeting Venue: Casa de Cultura, Jávea Old Town
Meeting Day and Time: 2nd Tuesday of the month at 11:30
Accepts new members: Yes, just turn up for ...
Full details

Ladies that lunch

Group Leaders: Katrina Frost, Delia Wilde
Email Address: ladies.that.lunch@u3ajavea.com
Meeting Venue: As arranged
Meeting Day and Time: Variable If you are interested in joining our group, please contact the Group Leaders at ...
Full details

Live Model Art

Group Leader: Mike Frost
Email Address: live.model.art@u3ajavea.com 
Meeting Venue: Social Centre Cafeteria, Jávea Pueblo
Meeting Day and Time: Second Thursday of the month, 14:30-16:30
Accepts new members: Yes
We are a self help group ...
Full details

Mahjong

Group Leader: Kay Thomas
Email Address: mahjong@u3ajavea.com
Meeting Venue: Café Cortado, Calle Joan de Fuster, Bajo 6, Javea Port
Meeting Day and Time: Tuesday, 15:00
The group is now full with a long waiting ...
Full details

Mexican Train

Group Leaders David and Barbara Woodhall
Email Address drwoodhall@gmail.com
Meeting Venue Café Cortado, Jávea Port
Meeting Day and Time Every Friday, 14:45 for 15:00 prompt start Finish at 17:00. Mexican Train is ...
Full details

Not Just Folk Music

Group Leader Roger Saunders
Email folk.music@u3ajavea.com Meeting Venue: See Montgó (next to Karting Javea track) details here Day and Time: Normally last Monday of the month 19.00 for 19.30 finish 22.30- ...
Full details

Padel Tennis – Ladies

There are 5 groups playing Padel Tennis. Some are exclusively for women and others are for mixed groups. Some of the groups are full but have waiting lists and others ...
Full details

Padel Tennis – Mixed

There are 6 groups playing Padel Tennis. Some are exclusively for women and others are for mixed groups. Some of the groups are full but have waiting lists and others ...
Full details

Painting in Watercolour

Group Leader Elizabeth Cross
Emailpainting.watercolours@u3ajavea.com
Meeting Venue Café de Dance, Toscamar, Jávea
Meeting Day and Time Wednesdays, 10:30 - 13:30 This is an Art group for both beginners and those with a ...
Full details

Petanque

Petanque One - Thursdays Group Leader: Sue Lammas
Email petanque@u3ajavea.com Petanque Two – Fridays Group Leaders: John and Beryl Chun
Email fridaypetanca@gmail.com Meeting Venue: Restaurante Casa de la Pizza, Carr. de la Guardia 146, ...
Full details

Photography

Group Leader: Steven Staus
Email Address: photography@u3ajavea.com
Meeting Venue: Group Leader's home
Meeting Day and Time: First Wednesday every month 13.00 – 15:00 The group call themselves Shutter Bugs of Xabia or SOX ...
Full details

Poetry for Pleasure

Group Leader: John Othick
Email: poetry.for.pleasure@u3ajavea.com 
Meeting Venue: Parador Hotel, Jávea
Meeting Day and Time: First Monday of the month at 11:00 Poetry for Pleasure is a very informal group, which always welcomes ...
Full details

Quiz Night

Group Leader Peter and Gill Atkinson
Email quiz.night@u3ajavea.com
Meeting Venue Jávea Golf Club, Ctra Benitachell, CV740
Meeting Day and Time Dates as arranged - see below 19:00 for punctual 19:30 start Quiz ...
Full details

Railways

Group Leader: Peter Sparks
Email Address: railways@u3ajavea.com
Meeting Venue: Jávea Players Studio
Meeting Day and Time: 2nd Monday of the month 15:00 If you are interested in joining the group, please ...
Full details

Rummikubs

Rummikubs Wednesdays Group Leader: Krystyna Stefanczyk
Email Address: social.rummikubs@u3ajavea.com Rummikubs Two Thursdays Group Leader: Val Dromgoole
Email Address: rummikubs.two@u3ajavea.com Meeting Venue: Dance Café, Toscamar Ctra del Portitxol
Meeting Day and Time: Weekly on ...
Full details

Satcine

Group Leader John and Beryl Chun
Email satcine@gmail.com 
Meeting Venue Jávea Players Studio
Meeting Day and Time Usually 2nd Saturday of the month 19:30 for 20:00 Satcine is the Saturday Social Club of ...
Full details

Sea Fishing

Group Leader: Colin Olver
Email Address sea.fishing@u3ajavea.com
Meeting Venue Javea Coastline
Meeting Day and Time Monthly As arranged Have you ever wanted to try sea fishing from the shore but don’t know where ...
Full details

Sit And Be Fit

Group Leaders: Pat & Roger Betts
Email: sit.and.be.fit@u3ajavea.com 
Meeting Venue: Dance Room, Sports Centre, Javea Port
Meeting Day and Time: Every Friday 10:30 - 11:30 Sit and Be Fit is a new gentle exercise ...
Full details

Snooker

Snooker One Group Leader Larry Sherrington
Email Address snooker@u3ajavea.com 
Snooker Two Group Leader: None at present
Email Address snooker.two@u3ajavea.com  Meeting Venue: Inn on the Green, Calle Cansalada, Javea
Meeting Day and Time: Thursdays 12:00 - ...
Full details

Spanish Lessons

Spanish for Beginners Group Leader: Heidi Hancock
Email: spanish.beginners@u3ajavea.com  Spanish for Beginners 1 Group Leader Heidi Hancock
Email spanish.beginners@u3ajavea.com  Spanish Pre-Intermediate Group Leader Heidi Hancock
Email spanish.intermediate@u3ajavea.com  Meeting Venue: Social Centre, Jávea, (Sala de Conferencia)
Meeting ...
Full details

Spanish Culture and Cuisine

Group Leader:
Angela Chantry and Tony DearieEmail:spanish.culture.cuisine@u3ajavea.comMeeting Venue:Meeting Day and Time:Cost:Accepts new members:Yes A VERY WARM WELCOME TO OUR SPANISH CULTURE AND CUISINE GROUP Our aim is to embrace everything ...
Full details

Sunday Solos

Solos on a Sunday Group Leader: Jane Lonergan
Email solos.on.sunday@u3ajavea.com
Sunday Singles Group Leader: Annetta Tyler
Email sunday.singles@u3ajavea.com Meeting Venue: Selected restaurants
Meeting Day and Time: Last Sunday of the month No ...
Full details

Table Tennis

Group Leader Carol Cresswell
Email table.tennis@u3ajavea.com
Meeting Venue Palau Municipal d'Esports, Sports Centre, Jávea Port
Meeting Day and Time Wednesdays, 11:00 - 13:00 The Table Tennis Group is for intermediate and skilled ...
Full details

Travel

PAYMENT UPDATE - AS WE DO NOT KNOW WHEN WE WILL BE ABLE TO HAVE MEETINGS WE WOULD ASK MEMBERS TO PLEASE PAY BY BANK TRANSFER IF AT ALL POSSIBLE. ...
Full details

Travellers’ Tales

Group Leaders: Angela Chantry, Tony Dearie
Email: travellers.tales@u3ajavea.com
Meeting Venue: Javea Players Studio
Meeting Day and Time: Tuesday 10:30 for 11:30 - check actual meeting day on the group's schedule below
Accepts new members: ...
Full details

Walking

Group Leaders: Karen White & Clive White
Email Address: walking@u3ajavea.com It is your responsibility, as Walkers, to look at the walk characteristics and ensure that you are capable of doing the ...
Full details

Wine Appreciation

Wine Appreciation Group Leader: Trevor Rush
Email Addr: wine@u3ajavea.com Meeting Venue: La Cocina Restaurant, Jávea Port
Meeting Day and Time: 3rd Wednesday of the month 12:30 for 13:00 start The Wine Appreciation ...
Full details

Activity Groups Photo Archive